What do I do now?

So my whole life, as far as I can remember back, I’ve always had a crush on someone-except for a 2.5 month period in high school. I’m single, and that’s fine. I was single for 18 years, so I can be single now and not care. What I do care about is the fact that I have tried to have a crush on someone or even think of them romantically and it just turns me off.

I know why too- it’s because after losing Eric, I can’t get myself to trust anyone. I feel emotionally or mentally stuck and it’s not fun. I feel like I want to be able to have new friends and meet new guys for fun, but because of how cynical and jaded I am right now, I just can’t do it.

When I see my friends talking about crushes and dating and needing advice I light up and help them, getting so excited for them…yet if I even have a guy say, “I really want to kiss you” I get so turned off. Not because they aren’t attractive or I don’t want it, but because to me, the second romance enters the picture the guy is then untrustworthy. So I rather have some new guy friends and keep them as friends even if they are attractive and have asked or tried making a move on me.

Plus I warn guys who make a move on me, that down the line they will be thankful I told them no. I mean, really, with everything I’ve gone through with Peter, The Monster, my anorexia, and now Eric, I really don’t need to add anyone or anything else onto that list- and that’s just boy/body problems. That doesn’t even touch on my family friend who is dying, or just general stress from school. So being single is a blessing!

6a00d8341c858253ef00e54f342d6a8833-640wi

This picture feels true! Guys put so much effort into winning you and making you fall for them, that when you profess your feelings for them, they suddenly realize, “Wait…do I even like her? I spent all this time trying to win her, but do I really want her?”

But I feel very confused and frustrated that I can’t even have a simple innocent crush without my cynical and jaded voice telling me that no one is worth it because they will screw you over. Logically, I know there have to be some guys out there that are worth it…but where are they?

XOXO Anna

Leave a Reply

