Beach Body Ready!

So there’s been a lot of talk about this ad from protein world. I’ve read people defending it on Facebook. I personally after reading a lot have my opinion formed. But before I offer my opinion, I will share the opinion of some of my friends on Facebook.

Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 12.05.47 PM

Comments to that post:Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 12First comment was by the person who posted and the second by Ethan.

The picture that the poster put was a cropped image of just the body, not the whole ad, where it says, “Meal replacement.” Because it says meal replacement and supplement in the ad, I personally am against it because I know what it’s like to starve myself to “perfection”. It sucks. Eating disorders and body image issues are terrible, and a lot of people suffer from them. Ad’s like the ones Protein World put out there make it harder for people with those issues. Most people do not have the body type that society “idolizes” and says people “should be.”

I consider myself average. I work hard to accept myself the way I am. If I get “in shape” meaning fit, meaning building muscle, I could achieve a body that I do want. I can honestly say I should exercise and get in shape, not to be an idealized body type, but for my own health. Yes, there’s room for improvement for everyone, but when society throws ads out that portray only one body type, and when ads talk about meal replacement, that’s when it becomes harmful.

Beach Body Ready

What are your opinions on this ad? Do you think it’s harmful? Do you like the ad?

XOXO Anna

Leave a Reply

