Anna Rexia

enhanced-buzz-17019-1382713073-25

I never knew there was a costume out there like this until now, so I apologize for not being in the know, but this costume is sick. I honestly don’t understand how society could make a costume like this. I’m sure many others have ranted about this too. This is offensive all the way around. Anorexia is not a joke. It’s not something to be “sexualized” or something to want. It’s a terrible thing to deal with. Anorexia is not glamorous or something to look up to or think that the person is strong because of it. This costume undermines the severity of the disorder. Anorexia is deadly if not treated. To me, the whole process of anorexia is a slow death, because essentially you are killing yourself slowly by starving. It’s not fun. It’s not something to joke about. It’s not something to be made into a costume with some  “sexy” woman wearing it. Sorry for the rant, but seeing this just infuriated me beyond belief.

Maybe it’s because I am currently trying so hard to stay in recovery and keep eating. It’s not easy and it’s not fun. It’s one of the toughest battles I’ve dealt with (and still do deal with) in my life. Hell, I had to have Cody help me eat breakfast today because I just didn’t want to eat.

The amount of suffering and loss that comes with this disorder is unimaginable. So seeing a costume like this is completely offensive and insensitive. If society makes a costume for “Anna Rexia” why not make one for another disorder or disease? You know why they don’t? Because it’s wrong and sick and completely offensive. Plus, just seeing this costume is triggering to me. For me in my own disorder, the model in this image triggers me, plus the costume itself triggers me. Maybe I never used a measuring tape but I did use a scale.

Honestly society is a huge disappointment when it comes to understanding mental illness. It’s time that society becomes more informed and takes this stuff seriously.

XOXO Anna

One thought on “Anna Rexia

Leave a Reply

